Maryland’s

CHILD PASSENGER

TR22.412.2

A person transporting a child under the
age of 8 years in a motor vehicle shall
secure the child in a federally-approved
child safety seat® in accordance with the
child safety seat and vehicle
manufacturers instructions unless the
child: is 4 feet, 9 inches tall or taller; or
weighs more than 65 pounds.

A person may not transport a child under
the age of 16 years unless the child is
secured in: a child safety seat* or a seat
belt in all seating positions in all vehicles.

[*Child safety seat includes infant seats,
convertible seats, forward-facing seats, booster
seats, or other safety devices federally approved
to restrain, seat, or position a child who is
transported in a motor vehicle.]

TR21.1121
A child younger than
16 years may not ride in an
unenclosed cargo bed of a pick-up truck.

Remember! Kids under age 13 are
safest in the back seat!

It is very important that all children are
properly secured in child safety seats
(including booster seats) and seat belts.

QUESTIONS:?
Call Maryland Kids in Safety Seats at
1-800-370-SEAT or (410) 767-6016

or visit us online at www.mdkiss.org

Martin O’Malley, Governor
Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor
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Maryland’s
ADULT SEAT BELT
LAW

(TR22.412.3)

Since October 1, 1997, Maryland has had a PRIMARY SEAT BELT LAW.
This law means that police officers are able to ticket drivers and/or adult
front seat passengers for not wearing a seat belt even if no other violation

is observed.

OTHER VITAL FACTS ABOUT THE LAW.

- Covers motor vehicles:

* Registered in Maryland as Class A (passenger), Class E (truck),
Class F (truck tractor), Class M (multipurpose) or Class P
(passenger bus) vehicles.

* The same types of vehicles registered in another state.
- Who is covered by the law?

e The law covers the driver and the front seat passenger next to the
door, each or both of whom may receive a ticket for not wearing a
seat belt. For example:

e If neither the driver nor the front seat passenger are buckled up,
each of them will receive a $25 ticket.

e In the case where neither the driver nor any passenger 15 years of
age or younger are buckled up, the driver will receive a ticket for
both. A $25 adult seat belt ticket for the driver and a $48 ticket for
the passenger (15 years of age or younger).*

- Not covered by the law are:

 Those who have a written certificate form their doctor stating a
medical reason for not using their seat belt.

* Drivers and passengers of Class L (historical) motor vehicles and

of vehicles not required by federal motor vehicle standards to be
equipped with seat belts.

QUESTIONS?

Call the Maryland State Highway Administration at (410) 787-4077,
(410) 787-5893, or 1-888-963-0307.

*Children younger than 16 years of age, in all seating positions, in all vehicles, are
required to be restrained under Maryland’s Child Passenger Safety Law. (Please see
reverse side for more information)
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